More on “Cry it Out” and Doctors Giving Parenting Advice

by

This weekend, while Christmas shopping,  I overheard a young mother’s cell phone conversation.  As she talked this mom was pushing a darling little boy in a stroller.  The cutie looked to be about 8 or 9  months old.  He had a giant smile that caught my attention immediately.   I keyed into the Mom’s side of the phone conversation because I thought she was so cute too.   She was gushing about all the amazing things her baby was able to do, bragging on him quite shamelessly (probably to a close friend or relative on the other end of the phone).  It warmed my heart to hear her revel in the miracle of her child and I smiled to myself and started to move on.

But just before I exited the aisle I heard her say, ”But now the bad news….we just saw the pediatrician yesterday and he says we’re not going to grow out of this sleeping problem.   He said it was time to let him cry it out so I did it for the first time today for his nap.  He cried for about 35 minutes.  It was horrible but I survived.”

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh!   I ran from the aisle before I could hear more.   Poor Mom!   Poor poor baby!  Shame on that doctor!  Again….enough with doctors giving parenting advice!!  I wanted to point her to the Braininsights blog post that Katie referenced on our Facebook page last week because it gave some compelling facts on “crying it out,”  or my blog post on choosing doctors, or the Parent Guild’s blog on doctors not necessarily being  parenting experts,  but I thought better of it.  I mean, who the heck would I be to her?  Yep, Just some crazy lady eavesdropping on her phone conversation!  LOL.   Sigh.  I opted for special prayers for that mom and baby later that night (during the time he was probably crying it out and she was probably feeling miserable) and this blog post as more appropriate actions to take for now.


Heart of the Matter Home ———-   Join Us On Facebook

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “More on “Cry it Out” and Doctors Giving Parenting Advice”

  1. kloppenmum Says:

    Yes, I think people get caught in their own agendas and how they want the world to look and lose sight of the big picture. I only hope that more parents begin to question this kind of advice.

  2. Julie Drew Says:

    Yes, awful indeed. And I’m with you. It always amazes me that “experts” are still handing this advice out (or even worse suggesting that parents are failing if they don’t do it) when there is so much science out there telling us it is ill advised!

  3. kloppenmum Says:

    Awful isn’t it? It does my head in that so many ‘experts’ are still advocating cry-it-out. Poor baby. Poor mum.

Leave a Reply

