Frustrated and Tired is a Two-Way Street

by

A long time friend of mine (who teaches children with autism) posted something on Facebook that immediately resounded with me.  She graciously allowed me to re-post it here to share with you:

Sometimes I get caught up and a bit self absorbed thinking about how difficult it is to teach a child with autism, then I get a wake up call…

My kiddo, 2 yrs old, and I are working on speech; he is non verbal. We’ve been focusing on making the “ah” sound for 3 months now and have seen very little progress.

Today after an intense sound imitation session that lasted about an hour, he looked me right in the eye and let out the most beautifully appropriate ‘oh’, threw his little baby head into my lap and cried. I could tell he was more exhausted and more frustrated than I could ever dream of being. Our kids are some of the bravest and hardest working little people and I thank God for my little reminder of that toady.

Our children, who have had less than optimal starts in life, live this in various ways every day.  May my friend Jeannie’s post give us the extra self-control and empathy we need to keep up the hard work of good, solid parenting when we need a boost.

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Frustrated and Tired is a Two-Way Street”

  1. Hannah Says:

    I randomly ran across this story, I then read your friends name. Needless to say I cried. That is my son! And Jeannie has truly changed him! Thanks
    Coopers Mom

Leave a Reply

